NAAC Accredited with B Grade :: 45 years of excellence in Higher education Quick link | Sitemap | Download
Home   |    Our college   |    Academics   |    Administration   |    Activities   |    Students corner   |    Publications   |    Alumni
Sree Narayana College,
Punalur, Kollam,
Kerala – 691305.
Phone:0475 2222635, 3258895
E-mail:[email protected]
Latest News : UGC Sponsored National Seminar on FUZZY LOGIC AND FUZZY SEMIGROUP (NSFLFS) 4-6 September 2013 Organized by Department of Mathematics in association with Kerala Mathematical Association. Click here for more details

The Department of Physical Education was established in 1965 and co-ordinates with other departments in nurturing the sports skills of the students. Enthusiasm is instilled in the young minds to participate in sports activities at the University, Interuniversity, State and National levels, and certificates and medals are given to the winners. The department provides all the required facilities to sports persons enabling them to bring glory and laurels to the college. The college sports teams participate in several intercollegiate, district and interuniversity tournaments. It also conducts annual sports day and organizes functions to honour the students who have come out with flying colours.

Sl. No. Name Designation Qualification
1 Prof. R Santhosh Associate Professor & Head of the Department MPE, M Phil

The department has a modern multi-gymnasium and health club which can be used by twenty body builders simultaneously. There is also an Indoor Shuttle Badminton Court, Basket Ball Court, Volley Ball Court, Foot Ball Court, 200 meters Track for athletic Events, Hand Ball Court and Cricket Field.


This year (2011-2012) the college hosted the Kerala University Athletic Meet and it was a dazzling hat-trick for our college. Our students grabbed six golds, three silvers and three bronze medals and came out first. The meet witnessed Vishnu V of I BA History setting a Meet Record in 400 meters, and he was also labeled as the best athlete of the meet. Nibin M Babu of III B Com was also instrumental in adding honour to our department by attaining sparkling gold medals in 800 meters and 1500 meters.

The college was the venue for the Kerala University Cross Country Championship, and it brought a three-fold gold of being the host, the champions and also in introducing the women’s athletic team of our college in the competition, which led to an achievement of the third place.

The greatest highlight of the year was the participation in the All India Interuniversity Athletic Championship at Mangalore. The college was able to march towards eminence with the achievements made by some of our talented athletes. Vishnu V of our college attained a dashing gold medal in 400 meters and 4 x 400 meters relay. Nibin M Babu grabbed silver medal in 800 meters and gold medal in 4 x 400 meters relay. We also take credit in Kiranlal of I BA English and Libin Raj of III BSc Physics who performed so well and brought praise and prestige to our institution.


Achievements in the Kerala University Athletic Meet (2011-12)

Total Medal Tally
Gold medals – 6
Silver medals – 3
Bronze medals - 4

A. Gold medals
1. Nibin M Babu (III B Com) - 800 m & 1500 m
2. Vishnu V (I BA History) - 400 m
3. Nikhul VS ( I BA English) - 110 m Hurdles
4. Syam Uthaman (II BA History) - 10,000 m

4 x 400 m Relay Team
1. Nibin M Babu (III B Com)
2. Vishnu V (I BA History)
3. Nithin Raj RS (II B Com)
4. Harisankar (I BA History)

B. Silver medals
1. Libin Raj (III BSc Physics) - 400 m Hurdles
2. Nikhul VS ( I BA English) - Triple jump

4 x 400 m Relay Team (Women)
1. Gopika Gopinathan (I BA English)
2. Sruthy Suresh (I BA English)
3. Soorya S (I BSc Zoology)
4. Veena P Nair (I BSc Chemistry)

C. Bronze medals
1. Manoj Kumar K (II BA History) - 10,000 m
2. Jithin sajeev (II BA History) - 110 m Hurdles
3. Syam Uthaman (II BA History) - Half Marathon
4. Sarath Chandran (I BA History) - Hammer Throw

Kerala University Cross Country Championship (2011-12)

Men (Winners)

1. Nibin M Babu (III B Com)
2. Syam Uthaman (II BA History)
3. Manoj Kumar K (II BA History)
4. Nithin Raj RS (II B Com)
5. Aneesh T (I BA History)
6. Abhilash S ( I B Com)
7. Vipinkumar (I B Com)
8. Tijo K Thomas (I BA English)
9. Vineesh M (II BA History)

Women (Third position)

1. Gopika Gopinathan (I BA English)
2. Sruthy Suresh (I BA English)
3. Soorya S (I BSc Zoology)
4. Veena P Nair (I BSc Chemistry)

News & Events
Our Guiding Spirit
Principal’s Message
The History
Vision & Mission
Awards & Honours
Annual Report
College Management
College Rules
University rules
Tutorial Programmes
Photo gallery
Video gallery
Useful Links
Contact Us